Mercury Transit of 2016: A Rare Celestial Sight Explained (Infographic)


Post 7760

Mercury Transit of 2016: A Rare Celestial Sight Explained (Infographic)

On May 9, 2016, Mercury crosses the face of the sun in a solar transit. See how Mercury transits work in our full infographic here.

Credit: Alan Eilander/Space.com

On May 9, 2016, Mercury will pass directly between the Earth and sun in a rare solar transit. Mercury transits occur just 13 times every 100 years.

The Mercury transit of 2016 will begin at 7:16 a.m. EDT (1116 GMT) and last more than seven hours, ending at 2:38 p.m. EDT (1838 GMT).

Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+. Original article on Space.com.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s